Feed Listings

Please note that these listings come from newsfeeds from the web, and are not content created by or endorsed by Seatails. Seatails takes no responsibility for images or opinions expressed in this section.

Post date: Fri, 08/02/2013 - 11:27

malformalady:

‘Fairy rings’ in moss, Rainbow Mountains region near the Laugavegur trekking route, Iceland. Carpets of moss are common in Iceland’s highland regions. This photo shows a peculiar natural formation, known in Icelandic as “witch’s rings".
Photo credit: Petr Brož

Post date: Sun, 07/21/2013 - 14:32


rabbit burrow 
Post date: Thu, 07/18/2013 - 16:02

Post date: Wed, 06/19/2013 - 08:39

Post date: Mon, 06/17/2013 - 18:43

hebephile:

little fairy lights/umbrellas

Post date: Sun, 06/16/2013 - 15:37

Post date: Sun, 06/02/2013 - 14:24

malformalady:

A fairy ring, also known as fairy circle, elf circle, elf ring or pixie ring, is a naturally occurring ring or arc of mushrooms, in his case Marasmius oreades. The body of this fungus, its mycelium, is underground. It grows outward in a circle. As it grows, the mycelium uses up all of the nutrients in the soil, starving the grass. This is the reason a fairy ring has dead grass over the growing edge of the mycelium. Umbrella-shaped fruiting bodies, called mushrooms, spring up from just behind the outer edge of the mycelium.

Post date: Mon, 05/20/2013 - 23:28

Post date: Fri, 04/19/2013 - 20:07

hannahgersen:

Witchy-looking inky-cap mushroom. (Via NY Times)

Post date: Wed, 04/17/2013 - 09:17

Pages

Subscribe to Feed Listings